Eastern Trail Management District and the Eastern Trail

ETMD logoThe Eastern Trail Management District (ETMD) is a group of representatives from each town along the Eastern Trail that manages the construction and upkeep of the trail. The Eastern Trail (ET) in Maine is currently a 65 +- mile signed bike route that starts at the Piscataqua River in Kittery and ends in South Portland, Maine, crossing the communities of Kittery, Eliot, South Berwick, Wells, Kennebunk, Arundel, Biddeford, Saco, Old Orchard Beach, Scarborough, and South Portland. The ET is part of the East Coast Greenway bicycle trail that extends from Maine to Florida. The ET in Maine is both on-road and off-road, and some off-road portions of the trail are under construction and others have not been built.

Trail Sign on the Eastern Trail

Eastern Trail Route Sign

The ETMD is a non-profit corporation created in 2001. A Board of Directors governs an Eastern Trail partnership between the Eastern Trail Alliance and the ETMD. The ETMD is comprised of one representative from each of the participating municipal members and three representatives from the Eastern Trail Alliance. The Eastern Trail Management District Membership Agreement authorized the incorporation of the ETMD. The agreement is the mechanism that brings the participating municipalities along the trail route and the non-profit Eastern Trail Alliance into the ETMD. This innovative agreement is the first of its type in both scale and objective; it combines municipal effort and non-profit agency support to build and maintain the trail system.

The goal of the ETMD is to establish a four-season, multipurpose, transportation and recreation trail between Portsmouth, New Hampshire and South Portland, Maine that provides a connection between areas of historical and natural significance, existing local trail systems, the beach areas and inland plains and municipalities both on and near the trail.

Go here to view meeting dates and documents for 2023 meetings, and archived documents for past meetings.

Go here to view key ETMD documents, including Trail Use and Management policies, design documents, maintenance and co-location agreements, and other official documents.

Current Officers:

  • Chelsey Berlin, Executive Director
  • Ryan Sommer, President (Saco)
  • Bryan Laverriere, Vice President (Kennebunk)
  • Rebecca Reed, Treasurer (North Berwick)
  • Bob Hamblen, Secretary (Saco)
Contact Us:

P.O. Box 250
Saco, Maine 04072

Phone: 207.284.9260            E-mail Us


  • Casey Cunningham, representing the town of Scarborough
  • Bob Hamblen, representing the Eastern Trail Alliance
  • Bryan Laverriere, representing the town of Kennebunk
  • Tom McCullom, representing the town of South Berwick
  • Mark Reed, representing the town of North Berwick
  • Jim Smith, representing the town of Wells
  • Ryan Sommer, representing the town of Saco
  • Joe Yuhas, representing the Eastern Trail Alliance

© Copyright 2023, 2013-2022 Eastern Trail Management District. All rights reserved.